Press "Enter" to skip to content

List of local candidates running in Tuesday’s municipal elections

Municipal elections are scheduled throughout Alabama on Tuesday, August 25, including in towns and cities in the Shoals area.

Because all candidates for municipal office are running unopposed in Rogersville, Anderson and Killen, neither of these towns will hold a general municipal election on Tuesday, although Killen will be joining Lexington in holding an alcohol sales referendum.

Additionally, Lexington voters will be choosing between incumbent Peggy McGee and Brian Keith McGuire for the Place 4 seat on the town council.

The following is a list of local candidates for municipal office in Lauderdale County (opposed races only).

Town Council, Place 4
Peggy McGee (incumbent)
Brian Keith McGuire

St. Florian
Town Council, Place 3
Marguerite Eckl
Matt Eckl


Don Raper (I)
Miranda Simpson
Town Council, Place 3
Patricia Alexander
Ricky Haggard (I)
Town Council, Place 5
Matthew Prochaska
Jeremy Simpson (I)


Andy Betterton
John Hargett
Steve Holt (I)
Sam Pendleton
Christian Rucker

City Council, District 1
Kaytrina Simmons (I)
Dave M. Smith

City Council, District 2
John D. Bowen
William “Dick” Jordan (I)
Billy Ray Simpson
River Zurinsky

City Council, District 3
Bill Griffin
Matthew J. Sufczinski

City Council, District 4
Josh Bowling
Michelle Rupe Eubanks (I)

City Council, District 5
Blake Edwards (I)
Michael J. Ledbetter
Bill Smoak
Thomas Spence

City Council, District 6
Brandon Balentine
Jimmy Oliver

Polls for all municipal elections will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. (Tuesday, August 25).

Comments are closed.